Going for a Swim in the Potomac

While at the C&O canal a couple weeks ago, I ended up spending just as much time wading in the river as I did on the toepath, wearing down my parents’ patience, trying composition after composition of river & bank, rock & tree… and of course, soaking myself in the wonderfully clean waters of the Potomac.

I waded through the waters adorned with my integrally durable $5 flip-flops, carrying my tripod over my shoulder and awkwardly holding my camera, complemented with a neither small nor lightweight ultra wide-angle lens, unnecessarily high over my shoulder to save it from water damage.

Photojournalist Robert Capa once said, “If you’re photos aren’t good enough, then you’re not close enough.” …If standing knee deep in the edge of a river isn’t close enough, I’m not sure what is.

